jump to navigation

Special Filmy Awards 2007 January 10, 2008

Posted by Shujath in Articles, Movies.
Tags: , ,

Since the last couple of weeks, everyone on the web is being bombarded with lists of bests/worsts….which sound pretty much the same. So breaking from tradition, presenting some special awards you wouldn’t find anywhere.

1. “Rani Mukherji memorial award for best movie prostitute”: The first ever recipient of this award is Rani herself for her unmatchable contribution in this endeavour right from Mangal Pandey in 2005 to Laaga Chunari Mein Daag and Saawariya in 2007. Special mention for her role in Saawariya where she effortlessly outshone umpteen other prostitutes in the movie.

2. “Regret of the year”: This has to be a tie between Ramgopal Varma who regretted making Ram Gopal Varma ki Aag and the unlucky audience who regretted venturing out to actually see it.

3. “Sleepy Editor of the year award”: Aarti Kashyap for Salaam-e-Ishq. If she had slept at her desk a little longer, Nikhil Advani could have released six different films.

4. “Most Honest Movie Dialogue of the year”: ‘It’s a misttaakkeee!!!!!!’ – screams Himesh Reshammiya in his first feature Aap Ka Surroor. Most people mistakenly (but earnestly) believed he was alluding to his decision to act.

5. “Unluckiest Celeb of the year”: No one comes close to Chiranjeevi this time….First he gets blasted on stage for being honoured as a ‘Legend’, his only release this year also bombs, his dude brother gets caught in a marital legal tangle, his daughter elopes in public and blames him for the act and finally his father passes away.

6. “Luckiest Celeb of the year”: This has to be Shilpa Shetty – because one definitely needs all the luck in the world when one garners all the awards/honours one can dream of in a lifetime…. just because one happened to be the target of a “racial slur” from a shitty contestant on an equally shitty reality show.

7. “Weight Loss of the year”: If you were guessing Adnan Sami or NTR or Sonam Kapoor then you are wrong. This award goes to the invincible Yash Raj Films’ jinki poori charbi utar gayee with the junk they unloaded at the box office in the form of Ta Ra Rum Pum, Jhoom Barabar Jhoom, Laaga Chunari Mein Daag and Aaja Nachle.

8. “Wonder of the year”: Again a tie between Emraan Hashmi who could make it through ‘Aawarapan’ without smooching any of his leading ladies and John Abraham who apparently is said to have used for the first time 3 different facial expressions in ‘Goal’ (can’t comment because I haven’t seen the movie)

9. “Supporting Pillar of the year”: Reitesh Deshmukh for playing the supporting role in every three hero film on the horizon…he continues the trend this year with Cash, Dhamaal and Heyy Babyy.

10. “Hammiest Performance of the Year”: Amitabh Bachchan and Sanjay Dutt for Shootout at Lokhandwala. Especially during the interrogation scenes between them…they seem to be asking each other – “Dude…what are we doing in this movie!”

11. “Super Achiever of the year”: This one too is a tie between Akshay Kumar who successfully delivered 4 hit films and Saif Ali Khan who managed 1 film and 3 different girlfriends.



1. Sai - January 10, 2008


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: