jump to navigation

Anbe Sivam (Satyame Sivam) January 30, 2007

Posted by Sai in Movies, Reviews, Tamil, Telugu.
trackback

Though I saw this movie in Telugu first, I can’t remember the number of times I saw the Tamil version later (thanks to a number of friends who love this film). This is a charming film with a message and tons of humor. The film starts out with a chance meeting between Anbarasu, a yuppie ad-film maker played by Madhavan, and Sivam, a communist played by Kamal Haasan. Their travel from Bhubaneshwar to Chennai is thwarted by various forces of nature (this part is slightly inspired from Planes, Trains and Automobiles) and they end up spending a lot of time together despite their dissimilar personalities and contrasting ideologies. Sivam’s background, how Sivam affects Anbarasu and how their fates are interlinked is dealt with in the rest of the film.

Kamal Haasan has written the wonderful screenplay for this film with witty and penetrating dialogue by Madhan (famous Tamil cartoonist, journalist, writer and film-critic who works for Ananda Vikatan magazine – source: Wikipedia). Though Sundar C. is credited as the director, one can see that the film has Kamal written all over it and it is his baby completely. Vidya Sagar’s soundtrack has some excellent songs including the title song (sung by Kamal himself in the Tamil version) and Poo Vasam. The make-up, as is common with Kamal’s films, is very good.

On the acting front, Kamal is brilliant as usual while Madhavan is a revelation. This isn’t really the role that one is expected to make a big impact with but I think Madhavan does just that. Kiran Rathod, who is generally seen in glamorous parts gets a small role which is much better than her usual roles. The supporting cast is really good with Nasser, Uma Riyaz Khan and Santhana Bharathi getting good parts.

It isn’t an easy task to make a humorous film while also talking about issues and delivering messages. Kamal Haasan succeeds in that aspect. This movie can be enjoyed by those looking for a simple film as well as by those who are looking for an intelligent and meaningful film. Watch this one if you haven’t seen it yet.

Comments»

1. Shujath - January 30, 2007

One of Kamal’s most underrated gems in recent times. After its release I had read that it might be remade with Kamal and SRK but never heard anything about it later.

I really love the “Anbe Sivam” song sung by Kamal…though I remember reading that it was “inspired” from some English tune. All in all, a great movie which is surprisingly very entertaining given the sombre theme.

2. B.Elango - February 3, 2007

This is one of the finest movie i’ve watched. I like kamal hassan very very much he lived as ‘sivam’ in that movie.

3. gota - September 23, 2007

guys can u plz send me links of satyame sivam sngs.
i jst want them. plz can u mail to my id

4. Sowmya - February 12, 2008

This is one of the best movies that I ever watched…and I keep watching it regularly even now… Songs..yeah… it will be nice if we get Telugu songs… Tamil songs are available wid me, though.

5. baap - June 24, 2008

what was the telugu name of the movie !?

6. baap - June 24, 2008

oops satyame sivam ? im guessing…apologies

7. Ananthakrishnan - July 2, 2008

Of all the different characters Kamal has done so far, I felt Sivam touched me so much. Well done Kamal.

8. Roosevelt - August 30, 2008

Hai!

I like this Satyame sivam so much.

Pls send me telugu songs to my Mail ID

roosevelt_2337@in.com

9. ZAHEER KHAN - August 20, 2010

hi iam zaheer khan, muslim guy, but i like only telugu movies a lotof sentiments and family story, love storys and etc.

10. songs29 - July 15, 2014

Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your
blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you provide here and can’t
wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my
cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..
Anyhow, very good site!


Leave a Reply

