jump to navigation

Bonnie and Clyde November 3, 2006

Posted by Shujath in English, Movies, Reviews.
trackback

The first time I came to know about this movie was last year when Bunty and Babli released and some reviews claimed it to be the Indianized version of Bonnie and Clyde. I never saw B&B…somehow had the feeling that I won’t like it anyways as has been the case with me for most of Yashraj’s recent flicks.

But I did see Bonnie and Clyde out of curiosity and I must say I liked it….not that I thought it was a great flick but because I found it quite fascinating that this was based on a true story. Bonnie Parker and Clyde Barrow were real robbers during the 1930s who used to rob banks, supermarkets and gas stations in Central America. When you watch the movie, the situations would look so filmy and unauthentic but imagining that something very close to this happened in real life is very amusing. I’ve heard of such robbers before only in comic books.

Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway are quite charismatic as the leads. Dunaway was really hot in the movie (especially in the opening sequence of the movie when she first meets Beatty)….all of the other films I’ve seen of her’s are from the seventies or beyond when she was ageing. So, I was quite surprised to see a very different Faye. Their other partners in crime include Gene Hackman, Michael J. Pollard and Estelle Parsons (who won the Oscar for Best Supporting Actress).

You might want to watch this movie out of curiosity…..otherwise it is not really a great piece of work – as I said before I only liked it because it’s based on a true story.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

