jump to navigation

Van Helsing August 29, 2006

Posted by Sai in English, Movies, Reviews.
trackback

This movie reminded me of the Vittalacharya movies of the 60s in Telugu but doesn’t come near the quality of any of those. This is a totally campy movie. Though it seems to be, this is not a horror movie by any stretch of imagination. The special effects are good. I haven’t ever seen a Dracula/Frankenstein/Vampire kind of movie, so the setting was kind of interesting for me. There is nothing in this movie that would really appeal to a thinking mind but the kid inside might enjoy it. Kate Beckinsale looks good. Hugh Jackman isn’t as likeable as in the X-men movies or Swordfish. If you happen to watch this film you really need to stop thinking. As camp, there are plenty of funny moments. Kids and those who can enjoy campy movies might like this though I don’t really recommend it to anyone.

Comments»

1. Shujath - August 29, 2006

I’ve never been able to get myself to watch this movie. The trailer itself was a foreboding for this movie.

When it came on HBO, I tried watching it….but 20 minutes of it was more than enough and I switched it off. I really like Hugh Jackman but somehow I couldn’t sit through.

This is the kind of movie which Laxmi Ganapathi films will dub into telugu with a funny wierd name and release it in the interiors.


Leave a Reply

