jump to navigation

Taxi Driver August 25, 2006

Posted by Shujath in English, Movies, Reviews.
trackback

I think this is one of the most overhyped movies I ever saw…Directed by Martin Scorcese and featuring Robert De Niro, the story about a taxi driver (you guessed it!!!) who is unhappy with the society and becomes a vigilante kind of figure to take action…more specifically to free a prostitute (played by 13 year old Jodie Foster).

Well, it is considered to be one of the most controversial movie ever made…I seriously fail to understand why. Though De Niro’s performance is very good, the screenplay is very sluggish…so typical of the films made in the seventies. One reason I may not have liked the movie is because most of us have probably seen hundreds of Indian movies about heroes trying to take the law into their own hands to change society, so when you venture out to watch a highly acclaimed movie and figure out that it’s the same thing which you’ve been watching all along, it surely disappoints you big time.

I suggest you to watch this movie only if you are keen to figure out the hard way as to why this is the most “controversial” movie ever made.

Comments»

1. Holden Caulfield - June 28, 2008

I can’t believe you hate Taxi Driver. This is the best movie ever. It seems like you know the whole the searchers connection. I think you have to understand loneliness to appreciate it.

2. Shujath - June 29, 2008

You’re quite right….The few lines I wrote about this one were immediately after I saw the movie. Honestly, that’s exactly what I felt at that time. Months later, one day I was behind the wheel and extremely frustrated for some reason and the first thing which came to my mind was Travis Buckle. It was only then I realized that Taxi Driver isn’t about the plot or the screenplay but about empathizing with the protagonist’s state-of-mind.

Today, I won’t say it was the best movie I ever saw (I don’t think I’d like to see it again) but to be very honest it has become the most influential one for me


Leave a Reply

